PDA

View Full Version : Contagion

Plot Device
09-26-2011, 05:56 AM
I can't believe there's no thread on this movie yet (and I did search just now).

I just got back from seeing it. Very grown up film. Very realistic.

jamesn65
09-26-2011, 08:21 AM
In some ways, those were my biggest complaints. It was almost too withdrawn for me. Too distant. I never really felt for any of the characters. I applaud the use of science and the (seeming... I'm no expert) accuracy of it all, but there were definitely times I felt like I should be watching the movie in school rather than the theater. I still enjoyed it, but it's not one I'll probably ever watch again.

shawkins
09-26-2011, 10:24 PM
I loved it too. I kept waiting for them to ruin it with a car chase or something, but they were grown-ups all the way through. One of my favorites of the year.

Cecile
09-26-2011, 10:59 PM
I haven't had a chance to see this movie yet, but I'm dying to. It seems like it would work.

katiemac
09-26-2011, 11:01 PM
It's very well-made and the cast is, of course, excellent. I thought Jennifer Ehle was particularly good.

I didn't entirely care for it, though. There are a lot of films this year I've liked more.

Shadow_Ferret
09-27-2011, 05:45 AM
Hasn't this movie been done like 100 times already? Disease comes along that starts killing everyone and they have to come up with a cure? Wasn't Dustin Hoffman in one?

Dommo
09-27-2011, 07:23 AM
I think what was interesting, was how nuts the world was getting when something like 1 in every 40 were dying (they said in the movie that 1 in 12 were infected and the disease killed 30% of those infected). That said, that's still a huge number of people (out of the 300 million americans, 7.5 million died), relatively speaking. I think it's fascinating how, even a deadly epidemic like that, even with it killing a shit load of people, it wasn't going to wipe us out. I think that's a bit more realistic than most types of epidemics that are portrayed in movies.