I am grinning from ear to ear

Hannah

Registered
Reaction score
I'm a new writer, and have had two [paid] pieces published, and the rest are floating around in submission land.

I write mostly essays, and went back to college this past March for journalism as a back up plan, if I want to pursue this writing thing; plus I wasn't that familiar with journalism writing. I'd like to work at a newspaper as a day job and do a little freelancing on the side.

Anyway, this past weekend I decided to do a self-assignment at a neighborhood event. I wrote an article about it and sent it to three neighborhood papers. I introduced myself as a journalism student. One got back to me. I was too nervous to open it right away, so I watched it for a couple of hours :Hammer: . When I did, just now, it was from the editor. He said, "It's a fine piece of work, and well written. However, we can't fit it into our upcoming issue." But, he did send me on another assignment. :banana:

Sorry if this post isn't coherent, my hands are shaking and I'm still nervous. I've got to call my husband (who edited the story for me), my mom, and my journalism professor :hooray:

Unique

Agent of Doom
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
That's great news! Polish up yer brass and go out again. Strike while the iron's hot and all that....w00t!

Vanessa

Writer and Music Producer
Registered
Reaction score
Hannah that's absolutely woinderful. You go girl!
I think it's time for a nana dance.
emoticonbanana.gif
emoticonbanana.gif
emoticonbanana.gif
smile.gif
emoticonbanana.gif
emoticonbanana.gif
emoticonbanana.gif

Best wishes in your endeavor.

Hannah

Registered
Reaction score
I just got back from reporting. People were really nice when I introduced myself as a freelance reporter for the paper :Guitar: