I need help with a contract so I can make a decision today.

Status
Not open for further replies.

writerterri

It's a dorky day!
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I'm looking for someone who wouldn't mind helping me go through a contract and telling me what some things mean. I've been through it a few times and understand some things but there are a few things I don't understand. Plus I've never done this before and don't know what to steer clear from.

I will email the contract to you under PDF form or copy and paste it to Word 2010 and send it that way. I will also give you my phone number or I can call you.

I would really appreciate it! And I'll throw in a pair of hand made winter booties that I make. They are wonderful!

Thanks so much. Don't worry the contract isn't that long. It's for ebook and they are a starter publisher.

Terri

writerterri

It's a dorky day!
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Am I the Licensor?

It says Licensor owns or controls all the intellectual property in and connected to the book.

Does that mean I keep the rights?

And in the add it says I get 49% of the net profits then in my contract is says that I'll share 70% of Revenue (after paying content distributor eg. Apple, google, etc) with the illustrator and 30% will go to Flying Books.

Is this good?

And there are some blank spaces for me to fill out the split percentage. Does that mean I can negotiate that?

Old Hack

Such a nasty woman
Super Moderator
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Terri, I'm sorry but I don't feel comfortable helping you with this contract. It's impossible to tell, from snippets like this, quite what the full implications of the clauses are; I just don't have the time to work through the entire contract and help you with it; and I'm not sure that it's appropriate for you to seek this sort of legal advice on AW.