PDA

View Full Version : Publishing Possibility: Poe Tribute

jazzman99
09-08-2011, 04:36 PM
I'm a newbie here, so I hope I'm following the rules correctly. My apologies to the mods if this needs to be moved to another forum.

I saw this call for stories on another mailing list I'm on. I did a search and it doesn't seem to have been posted here, and I thought some folks might be interested. I'm definitely going to try to throw something together if I have time this month.

Here 'tis:

The Edgar Allan Poe House and Museum in Baltimore has lost its $80,000 per year
funding from the City of Baltimore. Literary Landmark Press is publishing an
anthology called The Spirit of Poe, all proceeds of which will go to the museum.
That's everything. All proceeds. Every cent above the costs of printing and
paying the contributors.

We are seeking short horror fiction up to 10,000 words. For this anthology,
we're looking for horror along the lines of Fall of the House of Usher or The
Telltale Heart, psychological and mysterious. Both of those short stories will
be in the anthology.

Contributors will receive payment of 5 cents per word for original, new fiction.
Reprints will be considered and will receive compensation of 2 cents per word.
Contributors will also receive one copy of the printed anthology and one
electronic copy. (Contributors are free to donate their earnings to the cause!)

Send submissions in word or rtf format to literarylandmark@ gmail.com (literarylandmark%40gmail.com).
Submissions will be accepted until October 1st. The anthology is scheduled for
publication on or about Halloween, 2011.

alleycat
09-08-2011, 04:40 PM
Interesting, but I'm wondering how they're planning on accepting submissions until October 1 and publishing it on October 31. That is a quick turn-around in the wonderful world of publishing.

Thanks for the information.

Tienci
09-08-2011, 11:29 PM