English and Creative Writing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Darkshore

Stranger
Registered
Reaction score
Hey there all. I'm a sophomore in college currently taking classes for a career in History/Education, but lately I've been having second thoughts. When I first got to college I saw my love of writing as more of just a simple hobby after finding this site and taking my writing more seriously things have changed. Just wondering if it would be in my best interests to consider a change in major this late in the game? I'm looking towards majoring in english and creative writing along with education in place of history. Any thoughts from people that have been in my situation?

Shadow_Ferret

Court Jester
Registered
Reaction score
Website
shadowferret.wordpress.com
Are you planning on teaching English and creative writing? Because personally, I think getting a major in something that'll help you get a job is more important. Getting a degree in creative writing does not guarantee success as a writer.

Allen R. Brady

Registered
Reaction score
I would not call a sophomore late in the game. You've got time to think about this.

It's my feeling that your undergraduate degree does not necessarily have to determine your career choice. I started as a Physics major, got my Masters Degree in Medieval English Literature, and now make my living as a programmer. Stuff happens.

My advice would be to study whatever you find most interesting right now. If you think you would ultimately like to be a writer, a solid knowledge of History gives you an awful lot to write about.

Susan Coffin

Tell it like it Is
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.strokingthepen.com
I agree with both Allen and Ferret. It's important to get a degree in something that will help you in the job market, but it's also important to study what you enjoy. It seems to me either degree (history/education or English/Creative Writing) would pave a path toward teaching.

That said...