Are Bloggers Writers?

Dawno

Shiny!
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
someplace around here, anyone seen my keys?
In the "Your Sparkly Mod" thread is this from Jenna:

And the rest of you: Your job is to convince Dawno that she IS a real writer after all.

That got me to thinking. There are a number of writers who have blogs but are bloggers writers or are just a subset of them writers - and what makes the difference?

I find it very easy to say I'm a blogger but nearly impossible to say I'm a writer. I got to thinking about that today. Partly it's because here on AW I consider you folks to be real writers - whether you're published or not, whether you're novelists, freelancers, text-book authors, researchers, editors, and all kinds of etc., you're all writers to me.

I came to AW as a person who loves reading and is a huge fan of writers. I wanted to learn more about the art and business of writing and get a peek behind the scenes at real writers.

So, back to the question - bloggers as writers. If I decide to pour all my creative energy into writing a blog and making that the body of my work, am I a writer?

Lady of Prose

Member - the "Sting Gang."
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Dawno, I think you have potential to be a great free lance columnist.

Why not submit some short articles and get some feed back.

Last edited:

Tiaga

Watching
Registered
Reaction score
Most blog writing is like writing in a diary or writing letters. There is such a vast amount of blogs that unless backed by creditable sources or a strong CV most are placed in the "Diary" category. Some lit blogs , journalist blogs and political blogs are exceptions to the norm.

Our work must for the most part be critiqued, edited and subscribed to. This makes writers truly writers.