College student writers unite!

Status
Not open for further replies.

texas_girl

Registered
Reaction score
I'm a college student and attempting to write my first novel. First day of school is tomorrow, and I was wondering if they were any other college students here on the forums. Do you write during the semester? If so, how do you manage time to write while still having time for classes, homework, work, social life etc?

Good luck to anyone starting classes soon. :)

JSDR

wants moar baddassery.
Registered
Reaction score
Heh. My classes start in about a month.
As much as I tried to avoid it, I ended up writing during the school year anyway. I managed my time by doing a lot of studying with friends while on campus, doing homework while on campus, reading between classes, and finishing up anything I didn't get done before getting down to the business of writing. Oh, and I have an infant to take care of during the day, so that takes up the time before and after class.
I end up writing/ story researching/ editing from midnight to 4 a.m.
Social life for me is texting and going out with friends twice a month.
I try to make use of every moment I can, so if I'm out with the baby, we interact with cashiers, people-watch to get inspiration, etc. When he's watching cartoons, I'll sit there with him and think about plot, revise things in my head, or go over the last lecture from school.
I have some kind of weird head thing where I constantly need to be thinking about something or I get mad for no reason....

maxmordon

Penúltimo
Registered
Reaction score
Website
twitter.com
I am starting the sixth semester in October and doing internship at the faculty. I simply cannot write during the semesters, I feel my energy is redirected to just the college.

texas_girl

Registered
Reaction score
Wow, JSDR! That must be difficult to write, go to school and take care of a baby.