Submission Predicament

RHuszar

Time is a gift.
Registered
Reaction score
I need some guidance. Mind if I lay out my situation?

Okay. I've been querying for a few months now. Two months ago, I got a bite from Agent 1 who asked for my full, which I sent promptly. I haven't heard anything from them, but it's been too early to nudge. So I kept querying.

Two days ago, I got another full request from Agent 2 and I emailed my manuscript to them right away. She then emailed me back saying that their policy for reading fulls (not partials) is that they get a two week exclusive. I replied saying that I couldn't technically grant the exclusive, since this other agent already has the manuscript, but I would stop submitting for two weeks to give her time to read it. I haven't heard back from her yet.

Now today, Agent 3, from an older batch of queries, responded to me asking for a partial with hopes of upgrading to a full if she likes it. Here's where I'm stuck. According to Agent 2's policy, simultaneous partials are okay with them, and I really don't want to lose any opportunities, but what if she wants to upgrade before the two weeks are up? Should I tell Agent 3 that my full is being seen exclusively? Will she wait for two weeks? Am I technically in a loophole because Agent 1 has my manuscript anyway? Am I completely over-thinking this? Have I screwed myself over?

Any thoughts, friends?

ether

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.kelley-york.com
I need some guidance. Mind if I lay out my situation?

Okay. I've been querying for a few months now. Two months ago, I got a bite from Agent 1 who asked for my full, which I sent promptly. I haven't heard anything from them, but it's been too early to nudge. So I kept querying.