PDA

View Full Version : Should I mention I have a degree in Creative Writing?

lauralam
08-09-2011, 03:29 PM
Hello again, all.

I did a quick search and saw some lists of degrees and what people have learned from their degrees, but I didn't see the answer to my specific question.

I have an English degree with a Creative Writing Option. It was from a state school, and I didn't study with any well-known authors. While I had wonderful teachers, they were not very genre friendly. I write science fiction and fantasy. The degree was useful for getting me used to writing and getting something down on the page by a certain date, and my training in poetry influenced my prose.

When querying, should I bother mentioning that I have a degree in Creative Writing? How do agents view this? As a "oh no, not another one" or "this person is committed to a career in writing?"

Cheers for the advice.

trirae
08-09-2011, 04:12 PM
I'm not an expert; probably shouldn't even chime in, but I would guess you'll get different agents giving different answers. I think it serves as a useful credential to mention in passing. I think I'd include it but not make a big deal of out it.

Good luck!

Barbara R.
08-09-2011, 04:16 PM
It won't hurt but it won't help, either. This is one field in which credentials don't matter, just performance.

taylormillgirl
08-09-2011, 04:39 PM
Yes, definitely mention it. "They" say you should specify your degree if it relates to your work, (ie: it's a legal thriller and you're an attorney). If you're writing fiction, I'd say a creative writing degree is relevant.

I didn't hesitate to mention my English degree...can't tell you if it helped, but it sure didn't hurt.

kellion92
08-09-2011, 04:59 PM