Registered
Reaction score
Last edited:

Jamesaritchie

Registered
Reaction score
Site

Old Hack said:
I just read a great site which discusses rejection from an editor's viewpoint. It is well worth a look, especially if you are in the throes of rejection-misery. It might just make you feel a little better!

http://nielsenhayden.com/makinglight/archives/004641.html

Or a little worse. Read long enough on that site, and you get some plain, hard truth about the quality of what editors see.

Storyteller5

Say something...
Registered
Reaction score
Thank you for posting that link. It's an interesting read, even though it is negative and positive in different places. :)

Old Hack

Such a nasty woman
Super Moderator
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
I used to work as an editor in London and was always amazed at the submissions. The slush pile was one of my favourite places to hide. We packaged esoteric non-fiction--books about meditation, retreat, various religions, myth, all sorts of things: no fiction, no children's books, no poetry. And yet we once had a fantastic submission (in the truest sense of the word): it was a heavily-illustrated children's story book, in verse, about trolls. Written in Dutch. No translation provided.

Jamesaritchie

Registered
Reaction score
Old Hack said:
I used to work as an editor in London and was always amazed at the submissions. The slush pile was one of my favourite places to hide. We packaged esoteric non-fiction--books about meditation, retreat, various religions, myth, all sorts of things: no fiction, no children's books, no poetry. And yet we once had a fantastic submission (in the truest sense of the word): it was a heavily-illustrated children's story book, in verse, about trolls. Written in Dutch. No translation provided.

I think that beats anything I ever received. I'd like to have seen it, though.

Pat~

Luftmensch Emeritus, A.D.D.
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score