PDA

View Full Version : Help I need a historian-WW1

emmyshimmy
07-26-2011, 05:52 AM
Oh the irony I have a double major in history and anthropology, but I studied Asia instead of Europe :(

My problem is this I have a MC (British) who has marched his jolly butt all the way across France just to be ambushed by the Hun. He is wounded and crawling over his dead buddies back up the road hoping to get to ____ where he can find medical help and be sent back to England. I don't know where to send him. I know Paris was useless later in the war, but this is early enough that the Germans have gained ground and before the Yanks got involved. Can anyone help?

Snick
07-26-2011, 06:54 AM
Positions were very different in the Fall of 1914 from where they were in the Summer of 1917. I believe that the British were on different parts of the front during different phases of the War. Exactly when is this set? While the lines didn't move fast, the War. Decide the time, then look up the position of the front and the positions of the British sector.

pdr
07-26-2011, 08:14 AM
British, it's British not English.

Right, before anyone can help you we need to know the year and the month so we can tell you who was where and doing what since a lot of the war in France was fairly immobile in trenches.

Also what rank does this poor Tommy have and what regiment is he in?

There were field hospitals behind the lines and Quaker and pacifist ambulance services right at the front to take men to the field hospital.

reiver33
07-26-2011, 09:28 AM
About the only situation I can think of when the British could have been ambushed by the Germans, unless you're talking about a purely tactical affair, would be in 1914.