Ways to encourage reviewing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

android415

Registered
Reaction score
Just started using Smashwords, and since then, I've "sold" 50 books. This is my first time on Smashwords, so I'm still a bit confused on how it all works.

(you might have seen my other questions post. I didn't know if it would be worth it to combine it, but Mods, if you think that is necessary, please do so)

Anyways, no reviews. Does Smashwords have a way to encourage reviews? I find it a little strange that I cannot communicate in real time with the people who buy my book. Any other Smashword authors have any suggestions for this?

Last edited:

veinglory

volitare nequeo
Self-Ban
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.veinglory.com
Buyers have privacy rights, they buy the book. It is the book's job to inspire a review. Or maybe your website if they areinterested enough to google you. You might want to start by getting a link in you sig line and offering review copies.

Last edited:

android415

Registered
Reaction score
I didn't necessarily mean hunting them down. I meant more like, idk, a journal page ON Smashwords. I'm not sure, I didn't have a solution. I guess I was moreso wondering what other people on Smashwords thought about it/did about it.

Or perhaps, another question. How many books were bought before you all scored your first review?

azbikergirl

I really do look like this.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
fantasyauthor.blogspot.com
In the back of my books, where I have an About the Author section, I tell readers that I'm an indie and don't have the resources that traditionally published authors have for getting the word out about my book, so I ask them to tell a friend and write a review if they're so inclined. It works pretty well. :)

Mutive

Blissfully Clueless
Registered
Reaction score