PDA

View Full Version : What to say in a nudge email?

Becca C.
07-14-2011, 07:37 AM
I'm probably definitely overthinking this, but I just can't seem to scrape two thoughts together on what to write in a nudge email. Some help?

PinkAmy
07-14-2011, 03:08 PM
NOT- Why the @%#$^ haven't you gotten back to me ;) .
Something like this:
Dear Agent,

On ___ date, I resubmitted TITLE based on the suggestions you made for revision. I realize summer is a busy time, but since you previously responded within ___ weeks, I want to be sure you received my manuscript.

The_Ink_Goddess
07-14-2011, 08:16 PM
Also, I have zero experience with this, buuuuut I have previously lied about having e-mail problems and "wanting to check to make sure it reached you" in similarish situations. I don't know if that's acceptable.

PinkAmy
07-14-2011, 09:55 PM
Also, I have zero experience with this, buuuuut I have previously lied about having e-mail problems and "wanting to check to make sure it reached you" in similarish situations. I don't know if that's acceptable.

Noooooo. Never lie. Why start your relationship with a potential agent out with a lie. It's unprofessional. You wouldn't want the agent to lie to you. If she doesn't have it, it probably accidentally went into her junk mail or she accidentally deleted it and she knows this.

Becca C.
07-15-2011, 03:08 AM
I know she got it, she originally sent me a "thanks for sending, can't wait to read!" receipt email. Thanks guys, I know I'm definitely overthinking this XD

idempotent1729
07-15-2011, 07:28 AM
I know she got it, she originally sent me a "thanks for sending, can't wait to read!" receipt email. Thanks guys, I know I'm definitely overthinking this XD

Sounds as though you're in a similar boat to the one I'm in! I'm thinking about something along the lines of

"Dear [name],