PDA

View Full Version : Horse riding mistakes

Sindri
07-13-2011, 02:39 PM
To any experienced horse riders out there, what mistakes do you see less experienced riders make?

I posted this question before and got some awesome detailed responses, but what with the forums being rolled back the original thread has vanished into the aether. And, of course, I can't remember everything that was said.

I'm writing a medieval fantasy focused on a group of lightly armored knights and squires and my MC who is really just a message runner. My MC has been taught how to ride (just the basics really), he just hasn't had to do it since learning several years ago. Now he is in a scene where a much more experienced rider is picking out his faults (rather scornfully) and is meant to be telling him how to correct them.

Any help is much appreciated.

HistoryLvr
07-13-2011, 08:45 PM
I am an inexperienced writer and just recently road a broken but not smooth horse. If he ever started galloping, basically anything more than a trot, it would just about throw me off because it was so bouncy/jerky. I am a fairly fit person, so it's not like I just couldn't hold on. Whenever that happened, I would drop one of the reins and grab onto the horn thing right in the front of the saddle. Also, I got chastised for not "showing the horse who's boss." Basically means I wasn't firm enough, didn't pull hard enough on the reins to get him to do what I want. He would just walk, eat, or run whenever he felt like it. I couldn't get him to go where I wanted, even when I got more firm, because I wasn't firm in the beginning and he could tell that I was inexperienced. At least according to his owner.

Robin K
07-14-2011, 03:47 AM
Hi,
I've ridden all my life and my mom's a riding teacher. I'm not an expert on medieval riding, but I would think any of the following might be universal: