Contract Offer... Now What Do I Do?

AlishaS

Is swimming with creativity frogs
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.averyolive.blogspot.com
So I've just been offered a contract by an e-publisher. Now what do I do?
They want me to agree first off to a few changes (nothing major and nothing I wouldn't agree to) before they will send me the contract.
However, I do have partials/fulls with other publishers (print and e-book)
I'm wondering what my next steps should be. Do I say yes to e-pub to see the contract, and then while looking it over, do I e-mail the other publishers with my MS and say, "hey I've been offered a contract"?
Also, is there anyone on AW who can look over a contract, since I'm new at this, I doubt I'd know how to point out an iffy contract...

Anyways, if someone could maybe point me in the right direction as to where to go from here, that'd be great!
Thanks!

Cath

The mean one
Registered
Reaction score
Website
blog.cathsmith.net
This is why Agents are useful.

Don't say yes until you know the terms, however it sounds like they're just asking you to agree to changes this point.

If you haven't already, check out The 'Bewares' forum to see if anyone else has experience with this publisher.

Last edited:

areteus

Registered
Reaction score
Usually the make corrections thing is part of the contract...

Nothing is legal until you sign so they can't force you to make any changes. Sounds a bit wierd they are making seeing the contract dependent on you agreeing to make the changes. can you not ask what sort of terms they are thinking of? Good publishers usually tell you in advance what the terms are before they send the contract (at least in my experience)

shelleyo

Just another face in a red jumpsuit
Registered
Reaction score