Niche business trade book :: reasons why to Self-publish include....

Status
Not open for further replies.

SamHorton

First time author, trade book.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
midnightblue.smugmug.com
I am a co-author and subject-matter expert involved in a business book project.

Specifically, we will have the first title for an audience of 500K users of a software tool. The growth rate of that base is >20% per year. They are not hard to find, and the vendor of the tool will be helping us.

The book will cover the unique business approaches for deployment, plus the top tips for implementation based upon over 500 projects for 100 clients in several domains since 1997.

I have a very good connection to an agent who, it would seem, could get a Dummies or Idiot's book deal.

That agent I do not intend to approach until we have a full outline, final sample chapters and a marketing pitch.

We are well-connected to the CEO of the company which produces the tool we will be writing about. We think we can get pre-purchased volume, we know we have permission to use screenshots, and we think we can get marketing help.

Our goal is not to get rich on the book; the book is designed to enhance our credentials in a rapidly growing market. Of course, it would be nice to recoup our investment writing the book.

So, here are my questions.

First, why would we pursue self-publishing? I am told that if we can direct market to the target audience we can and should self-publish for (a) control (b) speed and (d) margin. The downsides seems to be (1) we have to format-to-print (2) vendor surcharges like landmines (3) adverse vendor behavior (i.e. vanity in sheep's clothing)