Status
Not open for further replies.

Plot Device

A woman said to write like a man.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
sandwichboardroom.blogspot.com
I have a few different Google blogs. One of them I used for the exclusive purpose of posting bits of my novel for review by a select group of readers. Over the course of about 3 months, I posted a new chapter almost every week of my novel. And I got excellent feedback from a pool of about 40 readers, all telling me what worked and what didn't. It helped me refine my book and get it ready for publishing.

I am now ready for querying.

If I can successfully get the book published with a traditional publisher, could Google come knocking on that publisher's door with some kind of legal claim to my book since I "published" it via Google before I published it via that traditional publisher?

Maryn

At Sea
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Was the blog open to the public?

My understanding--I'm no lawyer--is that if you've posted work online at a site open to the public, it has been published in the legal sense, and it's unlikely a publisher will want to buy second publishing rights, even if you take it down today. That's why AW is passworded.

What disclaimer, if any, does Google post when you have a blog there? We'd have to see the language to know if they could make a claim.

The odds are hugely in favor that they would not, but whether they could not depends on what you agreed to when you signed up for and used their blogs.

Maryn, who doesn't post WIPs in public

Plot Device

A woman said to write like a man.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
sandwichboardroom.blogspot.com
Was the blog open to the public?

My understanding--I'm no lawyer--is that if you've posted work online at a site open to the public, it has been published in the legal sense, and it's unlikely a publisher will want to buy second publishing rights, even if you take it down today. That's why AW is passworded.