Self-ePublishing, EDITING & Covers, etc...

Book Graphics

A busy author's best friend!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
bookgraphics.wordpress.com
Hi y'all!

As a journalist making the leap into creative writing, I'm very interested in ePublishing and particularly self-ePublishing. So, I'll probably lurk around this category a lot!

I have three WIPs - two Romantic Suspense novels and a cookbook (yes, I'm a masochist) - and I'm seriously considering self-publishing in eFormat for all three of them.

So, as a former newspaper and magazine editor, I'm pretty darned good at turning out super clean copy. If I self-publish, does this mean I don't need an editor to 'polish' my work? I tend to think it does not. I know from long experience as an editor myself that writers tend to NOT catch their own mistakes - even if they're just typos (or worse - spell check corrections gone kinky). And the issue of catching plot miscues and character development issues is a concern to me as well. BUT, what is really giving me FITS is dialogue! Journalists do NOT write dialogue, so I have zero experience in this area. So, even if I self-publish, I will eventually need an experienced editor to cover my back on these issues. WHERE DO I FIND SUCH A CREATURE? Oh, and how much is this likely to dent my bank account?

On to FUN STUFF! At the urging of some author pals for whom I designed custom eBook covers, I've just launched a design service specifically for authors (traditional & eBook covers, pre-made covers, promotional materials, ads, etc). It's called Book Graphics and you're invited to check out some of my work:

Custom eBook Cover Samples

Pre-made Covers

Looking forward to getting to know y'all (yes, that's a SOUTHERN drawl) and reading your response to this post. I'm hoping for LOTS of ideas and suggestions.

Thanks in advance,

Dawn

thothguard51

A Gentleman of a refined age...
Registered
Reaction score