No platform - do I even have a chance?

Marfa

Registered
Reaction score
I have a true crime idea for a non-fiction book. I am not an expert in the field of crimes. I just lived in the country where the crime was committed, followed the trial. Do I even have a chance of someone be interested in my proposal? In the US only four books were published about this crime. A very long time ago. Is it a lost case because I don't really have a platform?

veinglory

volitare nequeo
Self-Ban
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.veinglory.com
Four books seems to me like rather a lot already?

IMHO your 'platform' is why people should believe/care about what you write. It matters more for non-fiction that gives advice. For true crime it matters more whether the publisher thinks you will finish writing the book and whether they can sell the book. That is why a lot of true crime is written by journalists and other pro writers.

Last edited:

PinkAmy

New kid, be gentle!
Registered
Reaction score
Four books does seem like a lot to me too. In your proposal you will need to show agents why yours is new and different or better than the others. Have you talked to the criminal or victim(s)? Do you have an in with the family and have interviews from them? With or without a platform, you're going to need to show agents why you're the one to write the fifth book about this crime, and why people are going to buy it. You could start by making a website with info about the crime or doing a blog, but realistically you aren't going to build a large platform in the time it takes to write your proposal and sample chapters.