Self-Publishing In The UK

Status
Not open for further replies.

-alex-

Registered
Reaction score
Hi guys,

Instead of traditional publishing, I am looking into the SP route.

I have a couple of questions, which I hope you guys won’t mind giving me your opinions?

1) Has anyone had any experience with York Publishing? (http://www.yps-publishing.co.uk). I hear it has got some good reviews. Are there any other companies inside the UK similar to this which I can look at?

2) Once I have completed my novel, and edited it to the best of my own ability, I would like to hire an editor, before I submit it to somewhere like York Publishing. Can anyone point me in the right direction for this?

Thanks for your time, and any help you can provide. I am still new to this, and doing as much research as I can, so please bare that in mind.

areteus

Registered
Reaction score
Have you explored traditional publishing first? Cos there are a lot of very good small press out there who are still a better option than self pub, which is often a lot of work for little gain.

I read an article by Ilona Andrews (writer of a series of Urban fantasy novels) discussing why she did not consider self publishing to be a viable route. It mainly came down to the fact that it would have cost her, personally, some ridiculous amount of money to hire the same editors, cover designers, typesetters etc in order to get the same professional finish that she gets from the publisher produced books. Certainly something to think about. Then add in the cost of distribution and marketing and it soon adds up... Self published authors often have to do a lot more legwork to get their stuff sold.

If you do decide to go this route, I wish you good luck. I would also suggest you look at a company called Lightening Source which a friend of mine uses. They do a print on demand service which is better than the option offered by Lulu and similar companies which required you pay for a batch of books up front.

-alex-