What do you think the scope for freelance travel writing is?

annabelle07

Registered
Reaction score
I think a lot of people toy with the idea of making a career out of travel writing and particularly freelance travel writing.

How would you personally go about it if you wanted to get into it?

JoNightshade

has finally arrived
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.ramseyhootman.com
Depends on who you are and what your resources are. Everything-Everywhere.com guy basically started with nothing but cash and time. He had cash. Now he has more cash and a business based around traveling wherever he wants.

If you don't have cash, I hear a lot of people do writing for guides like Lonely Planet, but it's usually super crummy and doesn't pay much! :)

I'm a travel writer, not freelance; I work for a company. Personally I think this is a good way to go, but I'm guessing in most situations you have to have previous travel experience. Most people don't want to pay you to travel just because you say you can write about it. They want some value up front.

Not sure that's particularly helpful, but I thought I'd offer my thoughts. :)

Purple Rose

practical experience, FTW
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
alxblog.net
Here's what I was told unofficially by someone from a leading travel magazine - get a sample and send it to the various publications. See if anyone is interested. You can write for various publications under different names. Check out all the travel publications out there - online and print. Don't forget lifestyle publications (magazines, newspapers, online) with a travel section. Also, inflight magazines for global airlines like United, British Airways, Qantas, etc

Good luck!

Bushrat

reaching for the sun
Registered
Reaction score