PDA

View Full Version : Need experience to be a beta?

Smirkin
06-04-2011, 07:11 AM
I'm a newbie in every possible way, and I was wondering if this means I shouldn't volunteer to be a beta. Are there certain expectations of the resumes/experience level of betas?

Anna L.
06-04-2011, 08:11 AM
Do you read books? Do you have opinions about the books you read?

If yes, then grats, you have the experience to be a beta! The art of beta-ing is the art of figuring out how to explain what you like and don't like about a story and, if possible, explaining how the author could fix the problems you see. (Sometimes the author or other betas don't agree, but that's why we say the business is subjective...) If you have an eye for typos and such, that's even better, but not required.

If you feel honest enough and patient enough to beta, then go ahead and offer. Even if you mention you're not used to it, there will be people hoping to get your opinion on their stories.

Anna L.
06-04-2011, 08:17 AM
Here's a thread you can read to have a better idea what people might expect from you as a beta: http://www.absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?t=117095

Figuro
06-04-2011, 04:32 PM
Becoming a beta reader also helps you to improve your own writing skills - you start to easily pick out plot holes, etc in other works and this makes you more aware of your own. It's really a win win situation for both you and the person you're beta reading for. You can point out what really stands out and how you feel about it as a reader.

If you start going line by line and pointing out stuff like spelling, grammar, plot holes, sentence structure, tense, character building, etc - you are then venturing into critting and this is far more time consuming with much more work involved. But very worthy when you have your group of crit writing partners and are all there to encourage and support each other in your writing / creative skills while being brutally honest to each other.