PDA

View Full Version : Dear Sugar- Advice for the Why not me's?

Sydneyd
06-01-2011, 11:47 PM
I am guilty a little of this. Not quite battery acid. I enjoyed it so I thought you all might...

http://therumpus.net/2011/03/dear-sugar-the-rumpus-advice-column-69-we-are-all-savages-inside/

Anyone else in this boat? Or does this make you roll your eyes?

scarletpeaches
06-01-2011, 11:54 PM
I'm sick of being told that jealous people are somehow wrong. If someone says "You shouldn't feel like that," they're telling you that your emotions are invalid, or that you're wrong for experiencing such an emotion.

Whatever you feel is never wrong - it's a natural reaction to what goes on around you. Sometimes it can spur you on to greater things, to harder work, to scoring that book deal yourself.

So yes, I'm a writer. I get jealous of other people. And you know what? I don't want to change.

So there.

Let others feel guilty for thinking "Why not me?" I think it all the time and use it to make me work harder.
But the people who don’t give up are the people who find a way to believe in abundance rather than scarcity. They’ve taken into their hearts the idea that there is enough for all of us, that success will manifest itself in different ways for different sorts of artists, that keeping the faith is more important than cashing the check, that being genuinely happy for someone else who got something you hope to get makes you genuinely happier too.Being jealous doesn't preclude believing the bolded part. It means you want it too.

You're allowed to look at someone published and think, "My book's better than that."

If someone ever does that with one of mine, good. I hope they use that feeling to prove themselves right.

Bookewyrme
06-01-2011, 11:56 PM
Interesting column.