Not open for further replies.

RemusShepherd

Banned
Flounced
VPXI
Reaction score
Website
remus-shepherd.livejournal.com
I have an embarrassing confession to make. I don't read very much.

In my youth I was voracious. I'd read in class, between classes, in bed, while watching TV and at the dinner table. But in my late 20s, when I started learning how to write, I stopped enjoying reading. I see flaws in books, and I become obsessed with ways that I could write the story better. Now I'm in my 40s, and it's very difficult for me to find something that I want to read all the way through. I gave up on six books last year, and I think I only finished three.

I've tried reading only authors whom I trust, but most of them are in the silver age of science fiction and no longer relevant. I've tried sampling a series and then sticking with the series if I like it, but many series go off the rails by the third book. (For some reason, it's always the third book.) I've tried reading classics and award-winners, but I'm finding errors and frustrations reading them also.

But I want to improve this. I need to read more.

I see two ways out of this. First, I need to turn off my internal editor while reading. Does anyone have tips for that?

Two, I need to find quality stuff to read. That's getting more difficult, now that online bookstores are swamped in unfiltered, self-published crap. (Of course I'm not talking about *your* self-published book, dear reader. Yours is the one I want to find. But how can I?) Does anyone have any tips on ebook review sites or ways to filter the ocean of ebooks, or any strategy to find quality books for a picky reader?

When I read a book that grabs me, I feel a greater compulsion to write and my writing is better. I see how writing fiction is mated to reading it. I need to work on the 'reading' side of that equation. I want to be a better writer by becoming a better reader, but at the moment I don't see how.

stormie

storm central
Registered