typesetting in eBook?

thrillerz

Registered
Reaction score
I am publishing my first eBook in a month. I want it to look nice so I've been reading some about typesetting. Does anyone know where I can find some good how-to's for Do it yourself typesetting?

For example, if I want a picture header for each chapter. Anything that looks better then the free kindle books I've seen.

Many thanks for any help!

eqb

I write novels
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.claireodell.com
I just released my first self-pubbed ebook, so understand that I have some experience, but not a lot....

One thing to keep in mind is that you have less control over fonts and formatting with e-books. The reader can choose a larger or smaller font size, or even a different font, depending on the e-reader. You also can't decide what size the page is, or how graphics will scale on any particular reader. So your best approach is to keep things simple. Use font sizes based on em-size. Keep the graphics to a minimum. Test your eBook on as many different readers as you can.

Reaction score
What eqb said. Because the end user has complete control over font, type size, orientation of the device, and may even read the book on something as small as a cell phone or large as an iPad or computer screen, there's *very* little real control over how the book looks on the publisher's side.

There's things you can do - things like having a properly formated table of contents, having consistent breaks (for scene, chapter, etc.), not using unusual ASCII characters that some readers may have issues with, making sure your paragraph breaks translate cleanly, etc... But honestly, it's a lot less typography and a lot more just making sure your .doc file is pretty clean of inline formating.

eqb

I write novels
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.claireodell.com
But honestly, it's a lot less typography and a lot more just making sure your .doc file is pretty clean of inline formating.