Tree Spirits and Native Tribes

Debbie V

Mentoring Myself and Others
Registered
Reaction score
[FONT=&quot]The following is a line from my manuscript, referring to carving a wood block into an animal shape. The character speaking knows more than I do again.

“Native Americans would say I’m freeing the tree spirit trapped when the tree was cut down.”

I need to know whose tradition this fits with best. And then to tweak it to make it accurate and specific to that tradition. If Native Americans don't fit, I'll take anything that does. If it's just wrong, tell me what's right. Thanks for your help.
[/FONT]

Ambri

Plotting something
Registered
Reaction score
Second star to the right, straight on till evening
Well, I'm not an expert on Native American beliefs; you might be able to find some books on the subject at your local library. But from my limited knowledge, this could fit into a Pagan or Wiccan belief system.

Debbie V

Registered
Reaction score
Thanks, Ambri.

I searched my library's online catalog but came up with nothing. The internet search yielded the Fox Indians as a possibility, but I have questions about the accuracy of the site I was reading. The info also lacked depth.

I have a Wiccan friend I can check with on that front, but Native American works better for the feel of the character.

Hoping someone else has more input.

Xelebes

Delerium ex Ennui
Registered
Reaction score
You might want to be specific in terms of tribe-family you are talking about. It also may help to find the resources you are looking for.

Rowan

Registered
Reaction score
There's an excellent thread in here about all things "Native American," but I can't recall the thread title. Anyone remember that one?

Debbie V

Registered
Reaction score
Rowan,I'll search for the thread. Thanks.