Selling out?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kristie911

Happy to be here
Registered
Reaction score
I've been querying agents for about six months and I've racked up about 30 rejections (the first ones weren't so great...I'm new to the game and I'm finally learning). I thought maybe I would try the Harlequin imprints but my manuscript is 108,000 words (page count...word count is actually 95,000) which is obviously too long for most of the Harlequin lines.

I sat down and cut the heck out of the thing until it was around 80,000 words including cutting off the entire ending which is okay except it feels like it ends too quickly now...but that's probably because I liked the original ending better.

So here's my dilemma...should I try querying Harlequin with the new mss even though I feel like I'm not being true to my characters and letting the book run its course? Or is trying to get it published more important? I really like this book and I don't want to give up on it yet...I think my characters deserve it! :)

I guess I'm just looking for opinions or thoughts...thanks!

Susan Gable

Dreamer of dreams, teller of tales
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.susangable.com
kristie911 said:
I've been querying agents for about six months and I've racked up about 30 rejections (the first ones weren't so great...I'm new to the game and I'm finally learning). I thought maybe I would try the Harlequin imprints but my manuscript is 108,000 words (page count...word count is actually 95,000) which is obviously too long for most of the Harlequin lines.

I sat down and cut the heck out of the thing until it was around 80,000 words including cutting off the entire ending which is okay except it feels like it ends too quickly now...but that's probably because I liked the original ending better.