PDA

View Full Version : I have to be in court tomorrow, any advice and reasurrances? (not legal advice ofc)

Fenika
05-05-2011, 07:06 PM
Hello,

Tomorrow I get to show up in court as a witness. I've been to the court room for the 1st appearance stuff, and I've got all my notes and stuff together, but I'm a bit nervous and never sat through trials before. It also doesn't help that I also have to appear as a defendant (can you say counter-suit?) and may have to deal with all that if the charges against me aren't outright dropped.

Anywho, any tips and general advice for me on what to do in a court room? I've had some experience with professional speaking, so it's just a matter of remembering to make eye contact and breathing and all that jazz ;)

Please please save all your horror stories and silly comments for tomorrow afternoon. I need some confidence building and hand holding here.

Also, standing up for yourself is tough. I'm feeling a bit harassed, though that's not surprising given the situation and the counter suit. I'm looking forward to this being over.

Dharma
05-05-2011, 07:10 PM
Don't be afraid to take your time to think before you answer.

milly
05-05-2011, 07:30 PM
ANSWER ONLY WHAT IS ASKED...if you can answer the question with a "yes" or a "no" do that...don't elaborate...make the attorneys do their jobs

you are much safer that way...and also, and this is key...if you do not know the answer, say you don't know rather than guess or provide an estimate as to time, distance, etc...an "I don't know" or "I don't recall" is perfectly acceptable so long as it is the truth

:)

Alessandra Kelley
05-05-2011, 07:45 PM
Don't make any assumptions at all and stay calm. Good luck.

Pistol Whipped Bee
05-05-2011, 07:45 PM