PDA

View Full Version : Non metal knife blades

Canotila
05-05-2011, 12:00 PM
I have a character that wants to make a knife to kill his enemy. His enemy is impervious to metal, but any other material could definitely work. Also, there can be no metal used in the construction of the knife even if it isn't the blade.

What are some good materials for this sort of thing? It would be all right if was a one use tool, as he intends to finish the job in one go. The character is an avid boar hunter, so he'd have a pretty good stockpile of trophy tusks. Would a sharpened tusk bound to a handle make an adequate stabbing tool? Or would it make more sense to use a length of weight bearing bone?

Aside from bone, all I can think of is glass or obsidian.

alleycat
05-05-2011, 12:47 PM
I'm no expert, but I would think a sharpened tusk would make quite an effective weapon.

Besides tusks and bone, there is stone and wood. A piece of pointed oak or hickory would make a nice spear.

Lapinou
05-05-2011, 12:53 PM
Why not bone? I cut myself on a sharp piece of bone the other day and it would have made a very good weapon if necessary! No handle required either!

Nugus
05-05-2011, 12:59 PM
Bone sounds good to me. Or ceramic. Maybe a large sharpened tooth - enamel is the hardest substance in a mammal's body. That'd work.

waylander
05-05-2011, 01:03 PM
Flint blades worked well for our ancestors for thousands of years.

Modern ceramic knives are popular with some chefs and are used by bomb disposal squads.

jeseymour
05-05-2011, 02:58 PM
Isn't a CIA letter opener made of plastic? Or is this a world without modern technology?

KQ800
05-05-2011, 03:45 PM
I have a character that wants to make a knife to kill his enemy. His enemy is impervious to metal, but any other material could definitely work. Also, there can be no metal used in the construction of the knife even if it isn't the blade.