PDA

View Full Version : Is this relevant for a query bio paragraph?

Carrie-Anne
05-04-2011, 08:59 AM
As soon as I get my epic historical Russian novel as polished as I can make it during my final revision of it going on 10 years after I finished it, I'm going to start querying it again. In the bio paragraph, I'm obviously going to include the relevant information that my degree is in history and Russian and Eastern European studies. But would it be considered juvenile or irrelevant to also mention that Russian history, literature, culture, etc., was also my area of focus/expertise in my high school history and English classes? I wrote quite a few papers and gave a number of presentations on topics in Russian history and literature, which were all well-received by both teachers and students. I think a lot of my teachers were surprised to find out a teenager who was that well-versed in the subject! And I did write the book from the ages of 13 to 21, so obviously my knowledge and research came in handy.

Would it be better to just put what my college degree is in and then mention how it was also my special area of focus in high school after finding an agent, or would that possibly give me an edge since it would show how far back my familiarity with this material goes?

Becca C.
05-04-2011, 09:33 AM
I think mentioning high school stuff would come off as juvenile, even if you did do some intense research and presentations. Sorry! You could tell an agent all this stuff during phone calls or emails regarding offers of rep, but doing so in the query might hurt you more than it could help you.

Kewii
05-04-2011, 10:13 AM
I think mentioning high school stuff would come off as juvenile, even if you did do some intense research and presentations. Sorry! You could tell an agent all this stuff during phone calls or emails regarding offers of rep, but doing so in the query might hurt you more than it could help you.

Agreed.