Conferences

FictionChick

Probably writing
Registered
Reaction score
I'm going to my first writer's conference this June. My first novel will be published by then (see my sig), but I will still be looking for an agent and will have a new MS to pitch.

So here's my question: Can I bring my book? Can I show it off? It is my business card, as far as I am concerned. I think it's fairly representative of my work.

Thanks for your responses in advance!

Tromboli

Hopelessly Hopeful
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.staceytrombley.com
I'd bring it but don't bring a ton of copies to hand out or anything. Agents already have too much to think about, carry etc. They don't want you handing them a book. Showing them your published book, I dunno, I doubt that is a big deal.

p.s. I am no expert!

Ari Meermans

MacAllister's Official Minion & Greeter
Registered
Reaction score
I might bring a copy just in case someone expressed an interest. I definitely would bring business cards and hone my pitch for the new ms rather than prepping to talk about a recently published work that won't have any significant sales figures by the conference date. But, that's just my 2 cents.

suki

Opinionated
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
You'd be better off printing up business cards or post cards with the book's cover on them, than trying to hand agents an already published book. It really is of no interest to them - they can't sell an alredy published book with no proven sales yet.

What they might be interested in is something new - focus on the new book.

So, maybe have one or two copies, and if you can make up postcards or bookmarks or business cards with its cover great, but any agents you come in contact with are going to want to hear about books they could possibly sell, not one they can't ;) And if you spend your time talking about your published book, you could miss an opportunity to interest them on your unpublished book(s).