Manuscripts and Submitting

ZapAdRem

YA Sci-Fi: Hoo-Rah!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
zapslobstertank.blogspot.com
I've queried agents several times in the past, and every time I've made sure that I've had a completed manuscript. Every source I've come across says HAVE A COMPLETED MANUSCRIPT. I've also only submitted to agents, never directly to publishing houses.

But I read something the other day that said if you're submitting to editors, you don't necessarily need a completed manuscript--you may only need the idea, or the first few chapters.

I've been working on the same story for the past ten years. It's gone through five whole revisions, but a small change I've made will require another rewrite. I know exactly what happens and how everything will play out.

So I guess I have two questions:

1. Should I stick with searching for agents, or are editors just as viable an option?

2. Can I submit with only an idea/first few chapters, or should I make sure I have a finished manuscript first?

Teriann

optimist
Registered
Reaction score
My experience is that for fiction, you need a complete manuscript -- unless you're well established.

For nonfiction, a sale is often made from a proposal, particularly if you have specific credentials for writing the nonfiction book you're proposing.

A good agent can get your manuscript read by editors you wouldn't be able to approach yourself.

TMarchini

Registered
Reaction score
As Teriann said, it's unlikely that an editor or agent would take on a new author if their fiction manuscript is incomplete. The fear would be that, without a previous history of published books, the author might not be able to deliver on a final, publish-ready manuscript.

suki

Opinionated
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Yup. Despite the rare stories and lore, the fairly clear and accepted is that whether you are querying agents or editors, if it's fiction, and you are an unknown, then you need a complete and polished manuscript.