Self-Publishers - Step Four - Format Your Story

dgaughran

Banned
Reaction score
Website
davidgaughran.wordpress.com
Hey,

I have been writing a step-by-step guide for getting your stories into (digital) print on my blog, but I thought it would be handy to have a primer for AWers who don’t know where to start with formatting their stories, so I have copied an edited version of my blog post below. I’m no formatting expert, I only did my first stories yesterday, but I found it straight-forward enough (although I have used HTML before, and I am familiar with cleaning out styles in Word).

I’m sure lots of you guys have lots more experience doing this, and useful tips you can add below, so please feel free, and if there is anything incorrect here, let me know and I will go back and edit it.

Dave

STEP FOUR: FORMAT YOUR STORY

All those different e-readers and devices use different software to display e-books, but there are a few industry standard file formats. What we are going to learn today is the digital equivalent of typesetting, known as formatting.

While you are waiting for your final edits or your cover, I recommend that you start learning how to format. You won’t be able to begin on your e-book until you have everything ready, but it’s good to get some practice in now.

Formatting 101

E-readers can do things that printed books can’t, but these features make formatting a little tricky. For one, e-books have no ‘pages’ as such. Each user has their own default fonts, font sizes, and other display options, and your e-book must be set up so that it all displays correctly on their screen, and that your text flows and wraps correctly when they zoom in and out. If you do it right, it looks really neat, and you can do all sorts of things like add weblinks, photos, even audio and video.