• Read this: http://absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?288931-Guidelines-for-Participation-in-Outwitting-Writer-s-Block

before you post.

How do you keep momentum

Status
Not open for further replies.

pandora1983

Jill of all trades,well,some trades
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.thetravelpaige.blogspot.com
this is just a suggestion...but try your scenes from different angles. Write from a different characters pov..or in a diff pov altogether. Try writing it like a screenplay..or like an interview of the characters after the fact.
maybe that will get te creative juices flowing

jaksen

Caped Codder
Registered
Reaction score
In MA, USA, across from a 17th century cemetery
I am not an expert in this, but I think perhaps you are someone who needs an outline, or a path to follow, in order to get that novel completed.

Even if it's a simple outline, detailing a few scenes, or where your MC is beginning and where you want to take him or her.

Then write the scenes which really capture your imagination. Once you get the momentum, it's often very hard to lose it.

Bookmama

Registered
Reaction score
One other suggestion, if you'll pardon my language, but I was at a writing conference and a very successful writer said that her best advice was to sit down and make yourself finish that "shitty first draft." She said that only by calling it that, was she able to really accept that the first draft would be.... well not good. BUT... only by having a first draft could she have a second one.

In terms of if I feel like my story is starting to get flat or boring... I always ask myself, what could happen that would make this situation (the one the MC is in) worse? The idea is to keep the tension mounting.

I also think an outline is a good idea for some folks. Worth a try, right?

Layla Nahar

Seashell Seller
Registered
Reaction score