PDA

View Full Version : RIP Elisabeth Sladen

eyeblink
04-20-2011, 12:31 AM
Sad news - Elisabeth Sladen, from Dr Who and The Sarah Jane Adventures, has passed away. She was only 63.

I just rewatched "Planet of the Spiders" (which I watched on first broadcast in 1974), which features both her and Nicholas Courtney (Brigadier Lethbridge Stewart), who passed away recently too.

Alessandra Kelley
04-20-2011, 12:33 AM
What? No! How? But --

Excuse me. I have to go have a good cry over a truly generous soul. I've been a Doctor Who fan for almost thirty years ...

Anne Lyle
04-20-2011, 12:37 AM
I'm gutted. My memories of Doctor Who as a fan (rather than a kid hiding behind the sofa!) begin with Jon Pertwee and Elizabeth Sladen, so it was lovely to see her still going strong (and so pretty still!) even as recently as "The End of Time" last year - and now she's gone.

Shara
04-20-2011, 12:47 AM
This is very sad news indeed.

Because her Dr Who character had the same name as me (and when I was a kid that was a big deaL) she was always my favourite character.

Sheryl Nantus
04-20-2011, 12:48 AM
OMG... I'm floored.

I loved her in the original Dr. Who eps and also in her own show.

*weeps*

I'm going to have to break it to my hubby when he gets home. It's going to be a sad, sad evening here...

:(

DavidZahir
04-20-2011, 01:02 AM
Oh no. Damn.

absitinvidia
04-20-2011, 03:26 AM
Sad news indeed.

dpaterso
04-20-2011, 03:27 AM
Well, bugger.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-13137674

-Derek

Calla Lily
04-20-2011, 03:32 AM
:(

dragonjax
04-20-2011, 03:35 AM
Damn.

Sage
04-20-2011, 04:07 AM
So sad :(

Kathleen42
04-20-2011, 04:18 AM
I still just can't believe it. :(

Grrarrgh
04-20-2011, 04:21 AM
Sad news :(

Bmwhtly
04-20-2011, 10:47 AM
Very Sad. :(

Sarah Jane in that blue dress from Ark in Space was one of the most formative images of my teens.

Diana Hignutt
04-20-2011, 02:23 PM
My first Dr. Who companion (and the best). Goodbye, Sarah Jane...

blacbird