I am a novice, this reply from a lit agent

imrod

Registered
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to everything, even though I'm an old guy. So please excuse my ignorance.

I have a completed novel and have started shopping it (or I suppose, selling myself) to literary agents.

I have researched agents from the 2011 Guide to Literary Agents, their websites, and sent out several queries (including the first several chapters). The responses have been silence and three "No's." The last "No" seemed a little different:

"Thank you for your query. Unfortunately, I do not think I am the right agent for this project. Please remember that publishing is a highly subjective business, and I wish you success in finding an agent who will have the passion for your work that it deserves."

I want to be optomistic, Is this a standard "Not Interested," or should I take it as promising?

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
It's a standard reply. Sorry.

Soccer Mom

Crypto-fascist
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Yep. Just a form letter. It doesn't mean anything other than "no." If you get a lot of form replies, try having your query vetted in Query Letter Hell (SYW forum, the password is 'vista').

imrod

Registered
Reaction score
That's what I thought. I had hoped for something more though.

Filigree

Mildly Disturbing
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cranehanabooks.com
Keep at it, Imrod. Several queries isn't enough, no matter your genre. Luck and skill might get you some 'maybes' soon, but be prepared for a few dozen queries at least.

The AW Query Letter Hell forum is invaluable for fine-tuning your approach.

Chris P

Likes metaphors mixed, not stirred
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score