PDA

View Full Version : The NICEST things non-writers say

COchick
04-17-2011, 08:50 PM
This is a take-off from the "stupidest" thread, just to keep things upbeat.

I'll go first.

My son goes to a weekly homeschool co-op, and in his history class they were learning about Shakespeare. I guess one of the teachers said "Shakespeare is still considered one of the greatest writers in the world." And my son, completely serious, said "And my mom is #2." (And then, on a not-so-nice note, he ended up defending my honor to some of the other kids who were pretty skeptical that I was a writer. Apparently, it almost came to blows.)

Anyone else got a story to share?

Wayne K
04-17-2011, 08:52 PM
#1 on my list is "I've read your book" I've been getting that a lot lately :)

#2 is "Is that your picture?" :e2brows:

Chris P
04-17-2011, 08:54 PM
"Dear Chris P, we are happy to inform you that your submission to [magazine] has been accepted."

Chicago Expat
04-17-2011, 09:04 PM
Mine is more of a memory and it lacks specifics. But I remember the first time I quit my job and used all my savings to take time off to write my first book. First draft in under six months, took about two months to do the final edit while starting a new job. I bound it up and passed out copies to friends.
Two things I remember:

-A good friend, one whose painting and installation art I very much respected, telling me how impressed he was with me, both with the quality of the writing, but also in the dedication to actually writing it; that I was the first one of his friends to ever follow through like that and to do it so well.

-Sitting at a neighborhood bar on a Saturday afternoon with friends who I'd passed the book out to and trying not to blush as they raved how much they loved the book.