PDA

View Full Version : E-book publisher Smashwords.com

Alexandermerow
04-16-2011, 04:07 PM
Has anybody of you ever published an E-Book at smashwords.com? I published my translated book "Prey World" there and I hope somebody will read it ;)
I have no experience with Non-German E-Book-Publishers, so I wanted to ask. Is this publisher reputable?

rsullivan9597
04-16-2011, 04:31 PM
Has anybody of you ever published an E-Book at smashwords.com? I published my translated book "Prey World" there and I hope somebody will read it ;)
I have no experience with Non-German E-Book-Publishers, so I wanted to ask. Is this publisher reputable?

Smashwords is a very professional organization - but don't expect huge sales from it. Make sure you are using their distribution features to get into B&N, sony, kobo etc. You'll get more sales from the retail giants then smashwords direct.

Alexandermerow
04-16-2011, 04:40 PM
Thanks for the informations. I expect nothing and I published my book for free. Now I sit and wait what happens :D

Catana
04-25-2011, 10:15 PM
Smashwords is a distributor, not a publisher in the usual sense. They're very reputable, and if you have problems, Mark Coker, the owner, is usually right there with an answer. I've bought a lot of books at Smashwords, and will be publishing all my work there.

veinglory
04-25-2011, 10:17 PM
Indeed, keep in mind that they are a vendor and distributor. So while you can publish with them you are the 'publisher'.

James D. Macdonald
05-05-2011, 03:29 AM
Latest from Smashwords:

Smashwords Partners with ScrollMotion to Deliver Indie Ebooks to Major Mobile App Marketplaces (http://blog.smashwords.com/2011/05/smashwords-partners-with-scrollmotion.html)

Stephanie Golden
05-05-2011, 07:45 PM
...do you opt out of SW's Amazon channel?