anyone know how to rebuild antique cars?

JoyMC

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.joymcculloughcarranza.com
so, i know NOTHING about cars. my five year old asked me how gasoline makes the car go and i had no idea what to tell her.

so feel free to talk to me like i'm a five year old.

i'm working on a middle grade story in which Grandpa was a real car expert - maybe even an actual mechanic by profession, or just a hobby, not sure yet - and he was working on rebuilding something cool. but he dies before he can finish. so Grandma and Granddaughter decide to keep working on it. so first:

1) what would be a really cool old car a real aficionado might be rebuilding for fun? and, if you can give a specific suggestion, could you say why that car would be particularly fun/challenging/interesting to rebuild?

2) and then, obviously, i have no idea where to even start researching what they're actually doing. thankfully, i think this action only takes place at one point in the story, so i only need to know the particulars of one hour or so worth of car rebuilding. AND thankfully, Grandma and Granddaughter are totally ignorant, too. but can you suggest something they might be trying to figure out? - i'm thinking it should be engine-related, and not, like, replacing windshield wipers.

3) and/or if there's anyone who wouldn't mind looking at a couple pages when i get them written (i'm still outlining; it'll be at least a few weeks) just to tell me if i'm getting the car stuff right, let me know.

thanks!!!

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
1) An old Ford Mustang or Chevy Corvette that grandpa found in a barn. How old was grandpa? It might be fun to use a car from when grandpa was a young man or in college.