Story ideas from dreams.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ludicrum

Registered
Reaction score
So there I was, snoozing away, when my subconscious mind decided to show me a fantasy story scenario that totally blew my mind. So I woke up and was all "oh my God, that's an awesome idea!"

My first instinct was to get out of bed and write it down. I had somehow managed to get tangled in my sheets and for some reason I was 100 times more afraid of the dark than usual, but I said "dammit, I'm a writer and I have an idea!" With that I threw off the sheets and reached over to the lamp by my bed. Only it didn't work.

That meant I'd have to get up and walk across the darkened room, which at this point was giving me chills. But dammit, I'm a writer, so I got up, hurried across the room, and flipped the light switch. It didn't work. The darkness was truly oppressive now and I started hearing faint whispering in my left ear.

I looked desperately around the room for any light source and could only find my computer's LCD monitor. I hit the power button as fast as I could and the blue power indicator light came on. I breathed a sigh of relief, curled up in the corner of the room (which seemed to have gotten three times as big in the last few seconds), and rocked back and forth in the fetal position as the monitor took FOREVER to light up. It eventually did and the room was brightened. This seemed to have gotten the lights to work too, because I tried the light switch again and it worked this time. I thanked my computer for saving my sanity.

Then I woke up for real. I tried my bedside lamp just to be sure that it worked and that I was actually awake this time. It did and I was. The funny thing is, the story idea that prompted my dream-within-a-dream experience was actually good, so I stopped barely long enough to piss before I rushed to my computer to write it down. This now brings me to my writing of this very post.