Who Made Those Beautiful Steampunk Avatars?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alessandra Kelley

Sophipygian
Staff member
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.alessandrakelley.com
I'm a visual artist (NOT a writer at all, but y'all have been really welcoming and nice), and I've been enjoying today's April Fool's Steampunk theme. There's such an impressive amount of thought and work put into it, I've just been going from board to board and looking.

My question is: who made all these steampunk avatars? They're fabulous! And beautiful, and disturbing. What artists crafted these images? Where did you find yours?

I'll start. I didn't actually make mine. I found it online at the National Library of France, which has a series of utopian postcards dating to 1910 which depict life "en l'an 2000" ("in the year 2000"). You can find them at http://expositions.bnf.fr/utopie/feuill/index.htm

Cyia

Rewriting My Destiny
Registered
Reaction score
I made mine, and a couple of others, with photoshop.

I took a picture of myself and added the background and costume bits from Google.

Cella

Cella
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I asked a similar question earlier.
I think people have been collecting images from all over the net and using them. I particularly like the one at the top of the screen, though. Not sure about that one :)

Chris P

Likes metaphors mixed, not stirred
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I found mine image googling "steampunk monkey." It's from a coloring book by Chet Phillips.

I wanted to keep in the theme of my Ernie Kovacs gorilla. I came almost close.

Last edited:

MacAllister

'Twas but a dream of thee
Staff member
Boss Mare
Administrator
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
VPX
Registered
Reaction score
Website
macallisterstone.com
The banner in the header was build by Clockwork, a longtime mod and AW member. I was SO excited when he sent it to me, yesterday, because I think it's absolutely stunning, too.

Cella

Cella
Kind Benefactor