PDA

View Full Version : I need your baby expertise

rosehips
03-24-2011, 06:17 AM
I have a baby in one story I'm working on. I have limited experience with babies, though. I need for this baby character to be at the stage where she's capable of being in a high chair but too little to walk and talk. Also, she likes putting blocks in her mouth, and may be able to say mama and baba for bottle. How old would she be?

Perks
03-24-2011, 06:24 AM
About ten or eleven months would fit. Could stretch it 10 - 14 if you need to and still be within "normal".

Pistol Whipped Bee
03-24-2011, 06:39 AM
I'd say between seven and ten months. My kids were walking by ten months.

Soccer Mom
03-24-2011, 06:43 AM
Hmm, you have your baby milestones a bit scrambled. Baby is likely walking before saying "baba" or "mama". At least mine were. 8-10 mos. Bear in mind that even before a baby is legitimately walking, they are highly mobile.

Here is a link to a timeline of typical child milestones http://children.webmd.com/features/is-your-baby-on-track

Perks
03-24-2011, 06:19 PM
Lol! Have I really forgotten that much? I went back and looked at my baby albums and perhaps I have.

My oldest walked at about 10 1/2 months, but didn't say all that much then. She might have said 'mama' but I don't remember her really talking until shortly after that.

My youngest didn't walk until almost 15 months, because she was an awesome crawler, and she started definitely speaking single words before she could walk, but didn't speak conversationally until she was well past two.

And I reportedly started saying 'quit that' when I was eight months old. And I've rarely shut up since.

icerose
03-24-2011, 06:23 PM