They ask for what experience you have. You don't have none

MissMacchiato

Bring on the Sweet, Sweet Coffee
Registered
Reaction score
:)

What do you say? if they've specifically asked for your writing credits or experience, and this is a debut novel?

Is there some diplomatic, 'doesn't make me sound desperate' way of phrasing the fact that you're unpublished to date?

jvc

Fearsome Dragon Mod
Registered
Reaction score
Apart from just not saying anything, maybe go with 'I don't have any writing credits, this is my first work', or something along those line.

Have you sent the query, and they've come back with that question, or is it in the guidelines to list writing credits in the query letter?

MissMacchiato

Registered
Reaction score
It's in the guidelines of a few of the agents I want to query, and I was wondering what to say. A few have asked for your credentials in writing specifically what you write. IE, I'm a doctor, which uniquely qualifies me to write medical romances, or whatever. Since I write paranormal romance, it's not like I have first hand experience of vamps and such, but I plan on saying the following:

I have a Masters in Museum Studies which has given me unique insight into Emily's (character's) position within the cultural sector.

I wanted to add a sentence about this being my first book, as it's specifically requested in the submission guidelines, but i'm not sure how to phrase it.

LisaAnn

Registered
Reaction score
I'm kind of in the same boat with my submissions, as I'm a zookeeper and animal trainer moonlighting as a wanna-be novelist.

I have a minor in magazine journalism, and I won some awards in college--which I listed out in my first drafts of my query letter--but I quickly learned (after my first 24 hour standard rejection) that my agents weren't interested in those few awards I won a thousand years ago.