My first short fiction writing class + workshopping

Status
Not open for further replies.

Searching

Registered
Reaction score
So, this semester I enrolled in Writing Short Fiction. And tomorrow I get to workshop a short story, something I've never done in real life before. Exciting stuff! I am particularly interested in what the other students will think and what sort of comments I will get. I think people are a lot less likely to offer an honest assessment in person compared to over the internet, especially if it's harsh. There's four or five girls and about three guys. Mostly YA, chick lit, thriller and horror readers. One fellow is into HP Lovecraft, his stuff should be interesting to read. Unfortunately, I haven't seen anyone with real passion for writing, but maybe people are shy in their first week.

What do people think about the process of workshopping? To me it seems like a great opportunity to get a general idea about how well a piece of writing sits with the audience, or discovering that something is really wrong if more than one person mentions it.

Susan Coffin

Tell it like it Is
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.strokingthepen.com
Searching,

About 18 years ago, I took a writing workshop through the local college for three semesters, which was a year and a half. We learned about the craft, were required to write at least 2000 each week, and had to workshop our stories (or poem, play, or novel chapter) a certain number of times during the year. Sometimes, the instructor also asked you on the spot to allow your piece to go through workshop.

My time in that class was one of the best learning experiences in my life when it comes to writing. I loved hearing what others had to say about my work, and also learning how to give feedback. I would recommend a workshop to anyone.

Good luck on your workshop tomorrow. Please tell us how it goes!

Maryn

At Sea
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score