Not open for further replies.

Rachel Udin

Banned
Reaction score
Website
www.racheludin.com
Linguists preferred.

I have settled on "dys-" as in "Dyslexia."

But I need the second part which should mean "creativity" or "creative." I'd prefer ancient greek.

Anyone have a clue?

Note: I used a English to Greek dictionary, but the root meaning came out as "Public worker" which kind of works against the story idea--which is why I need a linguist.

Drachen Jager

Professor of applied misanthropy
Registered
Reaction score
I am not an expert, but since nobody has answered I thought I might chip in.

creō is Latin for 'create' and the root of the English word. All the translations from greek I could come up with were... well, Greek to me. The alphabet screws me up, I have no idea how to read it.

Here is a wiki dictionary that has all the ancient greek rooted English words.

http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/Category:Ancient_Greek_derivations

I hope that helps.

Skyler

Ninja kid, be gentle!
Registered
Reaction score
Ooh, pick me! I can read Greek!

The Greek words for "creative"/"creativity"/"creator" come from the root "demiurg-" (rough Anglicization), from which we get the word "demiurge" (the creator of the universe).

Just for kicks I tried typing in ουργο, and the word that came up was "fessional". I Googled it: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=fessional :D

JayD

Recovering Lurker
Registered
Reaction score
dysconciperous/aconciperous?

It's latin and it's mostly made up, but I figured I'd offer something up before I poked holes in your request.

Mainly, it's that the prefix dys- means bad/ill, which might not be what you're looking for. Dys + "creative" would probably mean "creating bad things".

The prefix a-/an- means without/lacking/not (such as in aphasia) and would be the better one if you were looking for a word that meant "uncreative". If you're not, then pay no attention to me =)

whimsical rabbit

Bunned
Registered
Reaction score
Hi Rachel,