• Read this: http://absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?288931-Guidelines-for-Participation-in-Outwitting-Writer-s-Block

before you post.

trouble getting motivated

Status
Not open for further replies.

rosebud84

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.laurenkaehler.wordpress.com
I am in between two novels right now and suddenly I have come to a standstill. As I read over the current chapters, I don't know where to go from here. I am losing motivation and am feeling discouraged.

Does anyone know the best way to deal with writer's block? What do you other writers do to stay motivated and get back on track?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am a new writer and know writing a book is a process, so I will accept any suggestions you have.

Thanks.

BySharonNelson

(Insert something whitty here)
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.bysharonnelson.blogspot.com
I will often just start working on a new project and get away from the old one. I will also start writing on paper instead of on the computer and get away from where I normally write. Go to the park, get outside. I have serious block sometimes and just doing new stuff helps but I think its diffent for everyone.

BjornAbust

Banned
Reaction score
It happens to the best of us :)

Personally, I think it might help to sit back and reexamine your reasons for writing. Are you writing as a hobby? Do you have any professional goals? What do you hope to accomplish by completing your WIP? By reminding yourself of such things, you may find your gusto renewed. It helps me at times, anyway.

It may not be a bad idea altogether to step away from your work for a few days. Don't step away for too long, otherwise you risk losing your perspective on things, however. Just step away long enough to clear your head. Use this time to do some exercise, hang out with friends, indulge in movies or music and, most importantly, read!

XX55XX

Registered
Reaction score