• Read this: http://absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?288931-Guidelines-for-Participation-in-Outwitting-Writer-s-Block

before you post.

How is it done?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kittenmay

Magical flying kitty
Registered
Reaction score
Hey all. I'm a bit of a newbie writer.
My problem is, when I write, I write about 500-700 words a day, if I'm lucky. I read about people on here who write 7000! I don't want to take three years on my novel. Is there anything I can do?

Reaction score
The Best Place In The World...Absolute Write!!
My problem is, when I write, I write about 500-700 words a day, if I'm lucky. I read about people on here who write 7000! I don't want to take three years on my novel. Is there anything I can do?

I can write 3.5k to 7k a day, but that depends on how much time I have. I´ve been depressed so I have not written anything in a little over a month. Depression is the only thing that stops me. However, I always say, 0 words a day is the worst number ever. No matter how many words you do in one day, as long as you write every single day, you can be certain you´ll finish your book.

Karen Junker

Live a little. Write a lot.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.CascadeWriters.com
Do not make the mistake of comparing yourself to someone with hypergraphia :)

Some people just write faster than others. You can still get a book done in a reasonable amount of time at the rate you are going.

jeffo20

Tyrant King
Registered
Reaction score
Website
doubtingwriter.blogspot.com
Don't get overly hung up on numbers. The key thing is to be producing words that are going to advance your work.

You may also find the more you do this, the easier the words flow. Keep at it and don't worry about what others have done.

dpaterso

Also in our Discord and IRC chat channels
Staff member
Super Moderator
Registered
Reaction score
Website
derekpaterson.net