End of an Exclusive Period?

LisaAnn

Registered
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I'm new to Absolute Write, and I'm very excited to gain from everybody's expertise. Here's my question--and forgive my naivete, but I just finished my first novel and I'm still shaky on submission procedures and timelines.

I sent out my first agent query in January and received a standard rejection within 24 hours. After tweaking my query for the past month, I sent out my second query on February 10th. Within 24 hours, the agent asked for my synopsis and the first 50 pages of my novel. Elated, I sent her my partial, and I received a request for my full manuscript within 24 hours. She asked for a two-week exclusive, which I granted, and that two-week exclusive just expired today.

I know I am completely jumping the gun in even being concerned that I didn't hear from her today, but how long are you supposed to wait after your exclusive ends before you re-contact the agent? I don't want to seem pushy--and I'm in no hurry--but I also don't want her to forget about me. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks so much in advance; I really appreciate your advice!

Becca C.

Registered
Reaction score
Hello and welcome to AW!

Unless she specified that she would be done reading the manuscript in two weeks, I wouldn't "nudge" her for at least another couple of weeks. Does she say on her website how long it typically takes her to respond to full requests? It's not uncommon for it to take a few months. So the exclusive period is up now; that should mean that you could send to other agents now, if you wish, but I wouldn't expect to hear from her for a little while yet.

tarak

for certain qualities of "sane"
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Central Pennsylvania - the gateway to Harrisburg
Lisa - I would keep querying. You might try to see what you can find out about her response time and nudge after that if you don't hear anything.

Congrats on the full!

PoppysInARow

Book Reviewer y'all