PDA

View Full Version : Tracing internet history (emails)

MarkEsq
02-24-2011, 11:55 PM
Say you had a terrorist trading emails with a colleague across the country. He's using an internet-based email, like Yahoo or Hotmail. Every email exchange is deleted after being read.

Assuming they find his computer, can the government go back, say a year, and read those emails? Are they stored somewhere, somehow? I know they could figure out which websites he went to (at least, I think so!) but how about seeing the content of the actual emails?

Thanks!

alleycat
02-25-2011, 12:01 AM
Do you want to make the terrorists incompetent (as some of them have been)?

If not, then any terrorist worth his salt would wipe his disk clean. There are programs to do this. It makes it very difficult to recover any deleted files. This assumes they don't just crush their hard drives from time to time and buy new ones. I'm not a terrorist, so I'm not an expert, but this would just be basic precautions, I think.

Of course, you can make anything work in a story. Those TV cops shows do it all the time.

Buffysquirrel
02-25-2011, 12:40 AM
If the emails were hosted on a remote server, and were never downloaded to the computer, only viewed on it, then no. They would have to go to the email provider for copies of the emails.

(eta: there might be something in the internet cache)

Drachen Jager
02-25-2011, 01:28 AM
Emails leave images spread across the internet. A government agency would likely be able to turn up 90% plus of e-mails if both computers were at ground zero of a nuclear blast (or merely had their hard drives wiped). It might take some time, but because they bounce from server to server across the internet there is almost always something left behind. Of course the farther back they wanted to go the lower the percentage of material they could recover.

BySharonNelson
02-25-2011, 01:44 AM