A somewhat unique "nudge" situation

Alegranssa

La vérité est dans le vin !
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.pambiance.com
Apologies in advance for the length of this – I would love some opinions on this situation: I have a completed novel m/s, I’ve been sending it out for a couple of years with encouraging responses but no bites yet. Last fall, I attended a writers’ conference and submitted the first 50 pages of the m/s in advance for an agent’s critique (one of the services offered at the conference). I went to meet with the agent to whom I’d been assigned (who, as it turned out, is high on my list of desirable agents), and he said, “I have only one thing to say. Send me the whole thing.” He hadn’t changed a HAIR of my m/s, not a single comma; he absolutely loved it, gave me his business card, etc. I was on Cloud 9 the rest of the conference (and fairly worthless for it, LOL). I got home, reviewed the m/s one more time, sent it to him in its entirety as a Word doc, as requested; that was early December. Since then, I have dropped two e-mails to him, very polite, asking about its status, and I received no response. (When we were at the conference, he was very friendly and approachable and we ran into each other frequently, so I felt comfortable sending nudges; normally, I don’t do that unless I have a concrete reason, like another agent wants to see the m/s, etc.) Meanwhile, I’ve been reading on Publisher’s Marketplace that his agency has been very active with lots of deals lately; two of them were under his name, nonfiction. I know the news could go either way, and certainly 2-3 months isn’t a super-long time when waiting for response on these things. I guess I feel more anxious about it since it’s not the same as a “cold query” – he specifically requested it after expressing significant admiration for the first portion. It seems a little strange to not hear anything for so long under those circumstances, but maybe it’s not. So I was wondering if anyone here